PDA

View Full Version : Sailor Moon's Mastery of the Soap Opera formula

Lumpy Dog
11/15/14, 05:58 PM
A running cliche in Magical Girl that so many casual anime fans and the modern anime fandom (especially fans of Madoka Magica) hates so much is the everyday high school/middle school soap opera story of romances, drama, backstabbing, and friendship. The hate is so vocal today that so much in the modern anime fandom want more stories like Puella Madoka to come out and I seen a lot of non-anime boards (especially gaming forums) where people honestly want the Soap Opera of traditional Magical Girl to die completely and instead be replaced by a darker grittier and gorier formula that Madoka has introduced into the genre.

This is probably the one thing people hate the most about Sailor Moon and bash it cliched and generic.

I already stated I am new to magical girl. But if there's one thing I can say its that no other magical girl to date except for CLAMP's Cardcaptor Sakura (which I'm watching and this isn't even a strictly traditional magical girl as it subverts or deconstructs some tropes from the episodes I had finished so far), its the soap opera storytelling that Sailor Moon is the champion of.. Its just so masterfully executed in Sailor Moon that I found myself caring for the characters. Not only did I cry during Hotaru's transformation to Mistress 9 as I stated in my other thread but I felt heartwrenched in even the earlier repetitive seasons. Minako's discovery Allen doesn't care about her, Mercury's development from shy nerd to sociable friendly, MArs descent into a gradually nicer and nicer person; they all touched me so much to the point as I continue Super S I am jus tcrying at the thought of the series anding and saying goodbye to the cast who I grown to love as though they were real friends.